top of page

Peek inside Editor L's Colorful Room


Editor L's Colorful Room

Hello, I'm Editor L. As I briefly mentioned in the last post, "2022 trend," I told you I was going to move in January. Finally, I moved into a new home safely, and a month passed by as tidying up a bit. There was so much stuff...😫 Even while I was disposing of numerous things, there were things I couldn't throw away. Those small items I kept are proudly placed in the corner of my room now. So, I would like to show you them this time.

 

[ 1 ]
Miniature Bookends

As a semi-professional crafter who can't stay at home without doing anything, I enjoy creating things with my hands in my free time, such as building miniatures and Lego, knitting, bead crafts, and reading. One day, when I stopped by a used bookstore that sells used books and small decoratives, I found bookends. The moment I saw it, I thought, “I definitely need it!” Then, I had to buy it right away. I can't put them in between books since I don't have a bookshelf yet, but I can't stop looking at them because they are so pretty.



These bookends come with products, instructions, glues, etc., so you can make them right away without any specific preparations. And it took about an hour for me to make them. So quick, right? The best part of these bookends is that they have motion sensor lights💡, so whenever I pass by in front of the bookends, the light turns on and turns off automatically after a minute or two. There was also a Harry Potter-themed bookend (Editor L is a huge fan of Harry Potter) as well, but I just looked at it because it's expensive. I will buy it one day and decorate it with my other Harry Potter books, journals, and goods. 🛒


Miniature Bookends lights


 

[ 2 ]
Cable Sleeves & DIY Desk

Before & After


Since I love colorful things, I tried to match the furniture with a neat white color. Yet, my desk that I bought in a hurry has a wooden top with black metal legs, which kept bothering me. But I can't change the furniture every time I move, so I decided to do DIY and went to a store to buy some paints, adhesive vinyl sheets, and cable sleeves.


For the top, I used white-color adhesive vinyl sheets. I usually cut the sheet to fit the size of the desk and then stick it neatly to the top, but I was kind of lazy, so I put it on the desk and cut off the excess part. It was actually much easier and neater! For the desk legs, I painted one layer of gesso for the better color of the paint, dried, and then painted with coral red colored paint. (I mixed it with the paints I had at home to the color I wanted.)


Since I was doing graphic design, there are many pieces of equipment were connected to each other such as monitors, so cable lines were exposed always inevitably. So, if it had to be visible anyway, I thought it would be nice if the wires were colorful. Therefore I covered them up with the cable sleeves. I like it so much because it looks a little rustic and cute.


 

[ 3 ]
Beaded Mobile
Beaded Mobile1

My room gets a lot of natural sunlight🌞 So I wanted to put a pretty sun-catcher or mobile by the window. I found a lot of pretty cute mobiles. But for some reason, I wanted to make my one and only hanging item with my taste, rather than buying one. So, I bought some tiny beads and wires. It will be lovely to make several and hang them by the window, so I will make more whenever I have time.




 


[ 4 ]
Incense Holder with Swimming Carp
Incense Holder 1

It is an incense holder and tray that I found randomly while browsing Instagram. I like this kind of design, and it was also something that my friend would love so much! So I bought two impulsively. When I bought them, I preordered them and had to wait about a month to be delivered. But unfortunately, it seems they don't make it any longer since then.


The lotus-shaped incense holder and tray are detachable, and I can use them separately. What I like the most is its design! It is made of clear acrylic, so it looks like you are watching a pond where carp are swimming. In addition, the unique scent of incense sticks and oriental design go well together. Also, this acrylic material makes it easy to wipe off with water, even if ashes fall off.

 

So, this is it. Did you enjoy it?

There are still so many things that I haven't unpacked, and I will decorate them slowly in the future. If I have a chance, I will show you them again later. :)

Now, I'm really curious about what your rooms look like and how you decorate them.

Comentários


bottom of page