top of page

A Maximalist, Editor L's How to Follow Home Décor Trends



Hello, I'm editor L. It's the first time this year since last year.😁

I wonder how all of your New Year's Day was in 2022. I thought 2022 was a far-future since I only saw that number at the 'Science Fiction Painting Contest' about the future in 20 years when I was in elementary school. It feels like I just blinked my eyes, but here I am in 2022, being an adult with tons of worries. Oh my...😿

Anyway, I got a new year's resolution to live my life focused on taking care of every day a little more this year. So, I have read various articles to find ways to brighten my days. Then I saw these four letters of home decor trend 2022 delivered by the Home Table Decor Fair.



P. L. A. Y Interior Using Plants (Plants) Sustainable Lifestyle for Future and Environment (Lifestyle) New Premium Living Brands (Appreciation) Sensuous Home Decoration for Youth (Youth)



This year, especially I am moving to a new place in January, I hope to decorate a 'PLAY'-ful space and life. I have to choose things carefully following the four letters since the move has already cost me a lot. I hope my "PLAY" will be helpful to you as well.

2022 Home Decor Trend


 

[ Plants ] Plants Killer, Editor L's Planterior
Monkey's Tail

I love plants, but unfortunately, I'm a plant killer whenever I got plants in my hands. Last year, I tried planterior with a variety of plants such as cherry tomatoes(named as Bubbles), basil (as Kim Basil), and lilac (as Kim Milak). But they died all with yellow leaves and stems. Nonetheless, I can't give up this year, so I looked into growing some in my place where I am moving in soon.


The new place I am moving into has good sunlight everywhere.🤗



I have conditions for new plants, though. (1) Does not require frequent watering (2) Easy to care (3) Loves Sunlights (4) It should be a cactus. Aren't most cactuses like that? I have learned that many of them love more water or cool areas. So, I have looked for cactuses that are not difficult to manage and meet all my four conditions above.


Monkey's Tail2

- Monkey's Tail

It was named because its stems resemble a monkey's tail, and the scientific name is Cleistocactus colademononis. It has soft hair-like spines and is pendant as it grows. It smoothes if you rub spines in the direction of the growth. It's so cute so, I will get it no matter what.


Fish Bone Cactus

- Fish Bone Cactus

It literally looks like a fishbone, so it is called a fishbone cactus. The scientific name is Selenicereus anthonyanus. The lobes tapered toward a rounded apex are attractive. It has thin stems and doesn't like direct sunlight. And it likes water for a cactus. I, a plant killer, am not sure I can give good care, but I think it would be so cute to put them on a small window in the kitchen.


 

Gore Plant Seoul

It matters to bring not only what plants but also from where. It also matters to raise planted what kind of pots. So I will suggest to you a place I visit often. It is Gore Plant Seoul, located in Samgakji. It is a plant shop that has mainly rare species of cactus. You can also find all cactus I mentioned above in Gore Plant Seoul.

Gore Plant Seoul has unusual plants, pots that allow plants to breathe well, pots in distinctive designs, and other accessories. So it is even better I can get everything I need along with plants! Most plants are likely to sell out quickly, so you had better hurry if you found something you like.


Gore Plant Seoul Hangang-daero 159, 2F, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea Closed on Mon-Wed

Thursday and Friday 13:00 - 19:00

Saturday & Sunday 12:00 - 17:00

 
[ Lifestyle ] Small Practices for a Sustainable Life and the Environment
somjy

Individual efforts for climate and environment are getting more attention these days. Before I lived by myself, I didn't realize how much excessive waste we make for convenience and how some products we use commonly threaten the environment and climate. When I do household chores after living by myself, I have to keep saying, "We are sorry, Earth !" However, packages and boxes are inevitable when we buy/sell things, so I have looked for sustainable practices to treat the Earth better.


somjy soap

The first practice is dish soap. (1) Cleaning capacity (2) No excessive packaging (3) Can I use all until the end? When I was looking for soaps that meet those three requirements, I found 'Somjy.' They use only paper for packaging. And the soaps made with good ingredients, you can trust and use, have good cleaning capacity. So I am dying to try it right away. I will buy one as soon as running out of my dishwashing liquid at home. And when I researched solid dish soap, I heard that there are products that leave residue on dishes after drying. Even though it says that's harmless, it is a bit annoying, right? However, Somjy products leave almost nothing. (It varies depending on the tap water in each house.)


Editor L's Pick


almang market refill station

The second practice is to utilize the inevitable plastic containers! Looking around the house, I found a lot of plastic containers used only once and thrown away, such as food containers, drinks bottles, and cleaning product containers. Once again, I felt guilty for the Earth and thought about recycling these containers. Then, I suddenly remembered that a brand has a refill station. I learned the brand doesn't run the refill station anymore. But I found a store called 'Almang Market,' running a refill station and re-station.


almang market restation

Some of you may know the refill station, but you may not be familiar with the re-station. The re-station of the Almang market is a place where collect specific resources(plastic bottle caps, vegetable nets, milk packs, used coffee grounds, etc.). And then recycle those items to make new products. Currently, they run two locations, which are one in Mangwon and the other in Seoul Station. They collect various things, so I highly recommend you visit there if you live nearby. I'm close to one in Manwong, so I will go there soon with plastic bottle caps and used shampoo bottles!


Almang Market Mangwon Woldeukeom-ro, 49, 2F Mapo-gu, Seoul, Korea


Closed on Monday

Tuesday-Sunday 11:30 - 20:00

-

Almang Market Seoul Station Hangang-daero 405, 4F, Yongsan-gu, Seoul, Korea


Closed on Monday

Tuesday-Sunday 11:30 - 19:00 (Last order at 18:00)



 
[ Appreciation ] Consistent Taste, Reasonable Choices
Editor l's scraps

I've only looked around for 3 or 4 days, but the lists are piled up.


As I mentioned, I am moving into a new place in January. And I am making my wishlist happily for a new year and a new house. I am probably broke if I decorate and buy everything I want. So, I had to compromise with my budget and choose the two products I wanted to get and decorate the most.


Samuel Smalls is a multi-brand interior shop selling furniture, lighting, decorations, and small electronics. Samuel Smalls products with the modern style in the 1990s~2000s, rather than the vintage modern in 1970s~1980s, are divided into Archive series and Original series. The archive series has beautiful designs, and it stimulates my desire to collect with its vintage styles. The only problem with me is the prices are pretty high. The original series are designed and produced by Samuel Smalls, and the colorful multi-plug is the most popular product. The price ranges from 40,000 KRW to 86,000 KRW. Mirrors and shelves are also so cute, so I want to take all of them, but the surprisingly high price tags make me stop putting things into my shopping cart.


Editor L's Pick

2C Multi Plug (Orange) / \48,000 (KRW)


Bmixx Studio is a design studio selling sensuous products that go well anywhere. They pursue a simple form focusing on the material itself. Perhaps that's why it feels like reaching the epic of design dedicated to its original function. In addition, adorable products that came out recently in collaboration with INAPSQUARE were sold out quickly. As a maximalist, there is only one reason I felt the urge to buy them with such simple designs of Bemix. Because I want to add my style on that white and cute one...! My impulse for creativity! 😎


Editor L's Pick

O Mirror(S) / \56,000 (KRW)

 
[ Youth ] More Interesting to See Who and Why Made This
saytouche exhibition

The way I buy things most of the time is like buying souvenirs. For instance, some people buy small pens or bookmarks as souvenirs after visiting exhibitions and use them daily. But, for me, I purchase exhibition books, read the artist's history, and keep them somewhere safe. For this reason, I have more interest in the brand story than the products when I buy something if there is a brand that caught my attention. So, I like to introduce two of my favorite brand whose products embrace stories of who and why made.


saytouche mirrors

Say Touché, a living brand that was launched by Lee Chan-hyuk(AKMU) and Lim Jae-rin(photographer), presents new standards for taste and artistic sensitivity. 'Touché' is a word you used to shout when your opponent scored against you in fencing. Its concept is to say 'touché' because you recognize their undoubtedly compelling vision. Like a brand story, their products incorporate things by breaking the boundaries of objects you see in daily life. For example, you can see a doormat with footprints, a mirror in a mirror, and a clock the looks like a fluffy mat. Yeah, so all I can say is I love it all, and I cherish the way they work on their projects. I am blown away by their style, shout 'touché,' and add more to my wish list.



The Bound is a brand to design objects that convey various sentiments, such as the importance of space, the connection of large and small items, and the comfort and gratitude that small things bring. When I sleep, I feel uncomfortable in my neck unless I use various pillows and body pillows. So, The Bound became additional to my favorite brands' list after seeing The Bound's PAULIN pillows with lots of curves. (1) Abnormal Looks (2) Softy Texture, (3) Function, even perfect for (4) Decorative use! There is not a thing I don't like. You can also lean on different parts of it to suit your posture. Besides the Paulin pillow, you will realize The Bound is full of incredible designs from looking at other organizational products and accessories.

 

So far, I have listed the things that make a day with four letters for home decor trends 2022. As a result, it seems to become Editor L's wishlist for the new year, but who cares. 🙄 Please try to make some interesting New Year's resolutions and plans with your taste for each letters P, L, A, and Y. Even those who cannot stick to the plan long enough like me will be able to have a productive year as if playing something fun.


コメント


bottom of page