top of page

🍞Cookbooks for Best Homemade Brunch Toast


brunch toast cookbook-1

🍞🥪🧈

Anyone who enjoys taking care of their home also loves cooking. I, editor K, am the same as well. But I think there are many days when I order food or eat out with excuses that I don't have time. 😅 I was thinking of doing something at home last weekend and realized that there were 3 toast recipes. (I'm a huge bread lover.😏) When I bought them, I used to read them and cook often, but at some point, they are stuck on my bookshelf.


So I took them out for this weekend! All 3 books have easy toast recipes for homemade brunch. This weekend, I will try one of these recipes for my homemade brunch rather than going out.

 




toast cookbook-1
TOAST - 76 Flavors Made of Bread and Baguette

This book is written by Millie, who has been a chef at a luxury hotel in Melbourne, Australia. After returning to Korea, she has been working with various brands as a food stylist. This book presents 76 toast recipes that you can make with bread and baguettes. Each recipe has been verified by her after tried several times by herself for more than a decade.


🤩 What I like the most about the book.

1. It explains ingredients, such as bread, butter, jam, baking tools, and how to toast bread in detail. I've never thought deeply about these things. Well, it says the basics are the most important thing always. Now that I know this, there's a difference in my toast.

2. Each chapter is divided by skill level - beginner, intermediate, and advanced, so you can find recipes that fit your skill, from beginner to advanced cook.

3. Recipes with leftover bread! I was astonished that the leftover bread could be such a great dish!


🤔 Things I wish more on the book.

1. Some of the recipes for the beginner level are pretty well-known to everyone, so I wish to have more uncommon beginner's recipes.

2. I thought some of the recipes were similar because the ingredients used were a bit repetitive.



📌 Editor K's Pick!

Quattro Cheese Toast(p104) Toast topped with 4 cheese. If you like cheese pizza, you will love it.

Miso Eggplant Toast(p184) It feels like a meal with miso sauce and eggplant on top of the toast.

Marshmallow Toast(p219) Th sweet heaven! It's the best dessert ever.


Book Details

Publisher: Tastebooks (December 3, 2018)

Where to Buy: Most major book stores in Korea (Yes24, Aladdin, Kyobo Book Center, Interpark)





 



brunch toast cookbook-2
99 Delicious Ways to Eat Bread

The author, Hiroaki Ikeda, is a bread lover who founded the "Bread Institute." As the title says, this book has 99 delicious ways to eat bread, which you can get at bakeries and markets, such as baking, topping, spreading, soaking, drying, and so on. You can find dozens of toasts with various ingredients, ranging from familiar ones(such as tomatoes, cheese, onions, bacon, strawberries, and bananas) to uncommon ones (such as mackerel, miso).


🤩 What I like the most about the book.

1. So many ways you can do with bread! The recipes made of unexpected ingredients were interesting.

2. Most of them are simple recipes, so if you eat bread for breakfast, you can try new ways of toast every day, instead of just toast with jams.


🤔 Things I wish more on the book.

1. I must have misunderstood the title. I thought there were 99 recipes, but 99 recipes included how to toast bread, how to store it, and even how to look at the expiration date.

2. Many recipes have unusual ingredients such as salted pollack roe, seaweed, kimchi, mackerel, and miso, so some people may not like them while some do.




📌 Editor K's Pick!

Mushroom Ajillo(p36) Toast dipped in mushroom-flavored olives. It is a mushroom version of Gambas al Ajillo. It's also good with wine.

Sweet Pumpkin Paste(p62) So easy to make, and the soft taste is the best. Make a lot in advance, put it in the refrigerator, and spread it on toast every day, hmm~~🥰

Tiramisu(p103) It can't beat the authentic tiramisu, but if you are feeling it, try it.


Book Details

Publisher: Jinsun Books (April 17, 2018)

Where to Buy: Most major book stores in Korea (Yes24, Aladdin, Kyobo Book Center, Interpark)




 



toast cookbook-2
TOAST : The Cookbook

It is the first solo cookbook by a food writer, Raquel Pelzel. It has 50 modern open-toasts with lots of toppings. The difficulty of the recipe varies, and each recipe consists of how to prepare bread and make topping and sauce. And every chapter introduces recipes from the most trendy restaurant chefs in New York and London. I buy one book and feel like getting a lot of freebies.


🤩 What I like the most about the book.

1. Chapters are divided by seasons and introduce recipes with seasonal ingredients and flavors. So it makes it easy to choose what to make.

2. The recipe is simple, but what came out is a dramatic as if you've seen it at a fancy brunch cafe! You can have the best brunch dish at home.


🤔 Things I wish more on the book.

1. As it is a translated book, several recipes are difficult to enjoy casually since they contain ingredients that are hard to get or pricey, at least in Korea.




📌 Editor K's Pick!

Dutch Apple Pie Toast(p30) If you like apple pie, you should try this fabulous toast with aromatic flavors of apple and cinnamon.

Best Cinnamon Toast(p38) I strongly recommend it to those who love cinnamon, just like me.

Grilled Steakhouse Hanger Toast (p108) Is it too elegant to call it a toast? It's easier to cook than you think. Also, it can be a hearty meal.



Book Details

Publisher: Yibom (April 15, 2016)

Where to Buy: Most major book stores in Korea (Yes24, Aladdin, Kyobo Book Center, Interpark) and Amazon





Comments


bottom of page